MEDIA RELEASE

NEMBC NATIONAL CONFERENCE A HUGE SUCCESS & NEMBC AGM RESULTS



Suite 1, 288 Brunswick St Fitzroy VIC 3065 Mail: PO Box 1144 Collingwood VIC 3066 Phone: (03) 9486 9549 Fax: (03) 9486 9547 Email: admin@nembc.org.au

Email: admin@nembc.org.au Website: www.nembc.org.au

2 December 2009

The NEMBC 2009 Annual Conference was held in Melbourne at the Rydges on Swanston on Saturday 28 November 2009.

The conference attracted over 100 representatives from community radio stations, organisations and government agencies across Australia, all with a common interest in growing and strengthening the ethnic and multicultural community broadcasting sector.

Victor Marillanca, the new President of the NEMBC, said "the Conference was a huge success with strong support from government, with presentations at the official opening from **Ms**. **Emma Dawson** on behalf of **Senator Hon. Stephen Conroy**, Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, **The Hon. Laurie Ferguson MP** – Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs and Settlement Services and **The Hon. Telmo Languiller MP** – Parliamentary Secretary for Human Services."

The main plenary included Prof. Andrew Jakubowicz from UTS with his presentation titled "Recognizing our Voices: Communication Rights, Cultural Diversity and New Media" and Kath Letch, Digital Radio Project Manager at the CBAA, who was able to explain the process in which 37 community radio stations will begin re-broadcasting in digital. "The main plenary was engaging and informative and provided vital information for community radio on the introduction of digital radio in the coming year", said Victor Marillanca.

"The workshops also provided the opportunity for people to receive vital information and have input into how community radio is engaging communities, with representatives from the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) and from community radio stations 3CR, 5EBI, SYN FM and Melbourne journalist Saeed Saeed", said Victor Marillanca. Other workshops included New Emerging Communities, Training, Grant Guidelines, Women in Action and the opportunity to be involved with NEMBC Constitutional changes.

Victor Marillanca emphasized the importance for the NEMBC to continuing building relationships and practical cooperation with stations, their broadcasters and the broader community.

NEMBC AGM Results

The NEMBC AGM was held on Sunday the 29th of November and, as it was an election year, there were four committees elected at the AGM. There were also 37 amendments to the constitution that were passed successfully. "The changes will provide important clarification on issues in the constitution", said Victor Marillanca.

The new committees elected at the AGM were the Executive Committee, the Ethnic Grants Advisory Committee (EGAC), and the Women's and Youth Sub-Committees. The long-serving past President, George Zangalis, has been given the position of Honorary Executive Director of the Association.

The Conference and the President expressed appreciation to Mr Zangalis for his invaluable work throughout the years.

The election results for the NEMBC committees were:

EXECUTIVE COMMITEE

President: Victor Marillanca JP (ACT) Vice President: Tangi Steen (SA) Treasurer: Joe De Luca (NT) Secretary: Cristina Descalzi (SA)

George Salloum (VIC) Osai Faiva (NSW) Mahendra Pathik (TAS) Nick Dmyterko (QLD) Werner Albrecht (ACT)

Honorary Executive Director: George Zangalis.

EGAC

Chair: Heinrich Stefanik (ACT)

Darce Cassidy (VIC) Luchi Santer (NT)

Alternate Member: Inoke Fotu Huakau (NSW)

WOMEN'S COMMITTEE

Marie-Josee Barnes (TAS)
Irene Bayldon (Tavutavu) (QLD)
Cristina Descalzi (SA)
Fipe Nasome (Howard) (NSW)
Jaya Srinivas (NT)
Irena Stumbras (VIC)
Joelle Vandermensbrugghe (ACT)

YOUTH COMMITTEE

April Adams (QLD) Stefani Eres (TAS) Kevin Kadirgamar (NT) Ekaterina Loy (SA) Jagdeep Singh Shergill (VIC) Gemo Virobo (ACT)

For more information please contact: Victor Marillanca, President on 0413 188 289